THE CLUNY

MUSEUM

The Lady & the Unicorn

The Lady &

the Unicorn

Cluny Museum

  • The baths: a place of relaxation for prominent members of Gallo-Roman society.
  • The collections of an impassioned follower of medieval art, Alexandre du Sommerard: sculptures, stained-glass windows, ivory objects, and tapestries – including the famous Lady and the Unicorn – and other treasures of the period.
  • The garden during the Middle Ages: a wide range of beliefs and medicinal discoveries.
At the intersection of the Saint Germain and Saint Michel boulevards, in the heart of the Latin Quarter, stand the ruins of what were once the Gallo-Roman thermal baths. The baths, along with Hôtel de Cluny, make up the Musée de Cluny, Paris’s National Museum of the Middle Ages. Opened in 1844, the museum houses works from Antiquity, the Middle Ages, and the Renaissance, among which the famous Lady and the Unicorn and the Pillar of the Boatmen.
01

Tour 1: Classic Tour 2hrs

In this beautiful residence once inhabited by the abbots of Cluny, your guide will offer up a unique panorama of the art and history of those who lived in Roman Gaul and the middle Ages.

Opening hours :

Daily except Tuesdays: 9:15 a.m. to 5:45 p.m.
Closed January 1, May 1, and December 25

Amenities :

Gift shop and bookstore

Direct, no-lines access: reservation required for groups (25 people maximum per guide)